{I can sew} making an old dress new again

I have had this dress from Forever 21 for a couple years now and I LOVE it but…at some point in time, one of the straps got caught in the washer and ripped off. This means that I threw the dress into a bag in the back of my closet which happens to be an entire room full of clothes…not kidding…I kicked my kids’ playroom to the basement and made the spare room into a closet for myself! What bag is this, you ask? The bag of “clothes that need to be mended, repaired, altered, re-worked, etc” that I have been gathering up for a couple years now. For some reason this weekend, I decided I would dig through the bag…get out my sewing machine…and work on some of them. I started with replacing the straps on this dress.

image

Broken strap

image

First I removed the straps from the top of the dress.

image

I bought some cord and new beads at Joann's.

image

The cord ended up being a bit too big and frayed to fit through the holes in the beads so I wrapped tape around the end to create a tapered end that allowed me to slide the beads right on.

image

The new cords with the new beads.

image

I hand stitches the new straps on in the same place as the previous ones.

image

Close up of the finished straps.

image

I am so excited to be able to wear this dress again after it being broken for the past year or so.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “{I can sew} making an old dress new again

  1. […] but it seems that is all I have been wearing lately. This dress may look familiar because I posted about it a month or so ago when I worked on fixing the straps that somehow manage to break last summer. […]

Leave a comment